WK 4- Artist Convo: Samuel Jernagan

Artist: Samuel Jernagan

Exhibition: Weight of Whimsy and Ideals

Media: Ceramics, Paint, Sculptors, Wood

Gallery: CSULB School of Art, Gatov Gallery West

Website: cargocollective.com/samueljernigan

Instagram: samueljenri

This week, we got to meet the artist Samuel Jernigan. He is an artist from the Central Valley, which I found super interesting since that’s where I’m from as well. Jernigan is a graduate student from CSULB with a BFA in ceramics. He expressed that at one point he lived in his car due to the fact that he wanted to work on his art pieces for 16+ hours a day. His inspiration comes from abandoned toys from flea markets.

His art consisted of mainly ceramic pieces. Some of his pieces were very bright and full of life. Others were more bland to show how they were abandoned pieces. Each piece resembled different toys. They also all had something wrong with them. For example, in the picture below, one piece shows a doll head. The head has eyes that look different to show that it represents a used toy. Because his work was ceramic, all of his pieces had a smooth finish to them.

When talking to Jernigan, he said his inspiration came from abandoned toys. He wants to bring both the idea of belonging and abandonment together within his art.  He is bringing a purpose to the toys that were left alone and abandoned. He claimed that he wants his audience to look at his art and think back to their childhood. He wants his audience to remember the toys from their past, and to remember the times where things were easier.

I really enjoyed his gallery. It reminded me of Dr. Suess, which is what I think the artist wants. Each piece was unique from the other which I found fascinating. Sometimes artists tend to repeat their ideas of their pieces, but I did not see that with his art. I spent a lot of time in his gallery because I wanted to soak in each piece. He took me back to my childhood and made me reminisce to a time when things were carefree and stress free.

Leave a comment